Donate
:
ENG       RUS  

The children of Africa. The story of Atoti Etirivae

Atoti

The eyes are the window to the soul. We can say a lot about people just having looked into their eyes. The eyes can smile, cry, laugh and astonish by their beauty. They can sparkle playfully or pierce furiously. The magical shining is something that the eyes of every person in the world can do, but the most beautiful shining is the one of an innocent child. Thus, it pains us to see deep sorrow and frightening emptiness in children’s eyes, and that is exactly what we see in the eyes of neglected children. They have a very peculiar look in their eyes which can never be forgotten, no matter how hard we try.

Street kids… How many of them are out there! Famine, death or potation in families make little Africans flee from their homes in villages to towns in hope for finding some food there. They even search for it in trash cans or steal at marketplaces. These African kids look the same with their dirty shabby clothes and vacant looks, dreamy because of drugs. They are barefoot and shaking in the cold. The street is their home, and the ground is their bed, which sometimes gets slightly softened with grass or trash piles.

One could think that there’s no hope for better life for these lost little creatures, because no one cares about them. But is there anything or anyone hopeless for God? God has a plan and hope for every single soul, even for the one that seems to be lost completely.

We want to tell you a story of such a soul.

What a big smile

Atoti is a young African kid who comes from Turkana tribe, which dwells in a deserted area on a border with Kenya and South Sudan. The vegetation of this territory is very poor – there are only cactuses and some spiky grass. The climate here is very hot, ground – of sand and macadam – longs for the rain, and drinking water is almost impossible to find.

Atoti’s mother died when he was about 5 years old. Since then, he lived with his father and older brother. His father was an alcoholic. When drunk, he used to violently beat his own children. He often made them search for some booze for him, and if they failed to do so, he beat them again.

In the end, Atoti and his brother got tired of such living, and so they had to flee. They asked a bus driver to give them a free lift, and he helped them to get to Kitale. The boys had to become real street kids, with all that panhandling, drug abuse and thievery.

One day, at a church service for African kids, Ukrainian parson Gennady Mokhnenko with his team took Atoti to our mission house. It appeared that the boy was literally full of surprises. He was very reserved and even ate with a fork, which is almost unthinkable for his tribesmen. His behaviour made us forget that he had been living in the street. He was trying his best to impress us. Atoti was so afraid of returning to his previous life that he even hid behind us when other neglected children invited him to play with them. When we announced our family rules to him, having explained the true importance of following them, his humble, vigorous and thoughtful answer was that he would never violate them.

Atoti became a part of the family in January, 2013. His personality was evolving more and more every day of our joyful life together. Atoti has good leadership skills – we trust him with babysitting other children or organising something interesting for them. He’s really successful at school, and he also has a good ear for music.

We believe that God will watch over this boy while he becomes a real Christian and, maybe, a great man!

Lunch time

Atoti

Time to play

Helper

Helper

With nice toy

Atoti

Author: Anastasia Klimenko

Published: 2014-05-27 18:34

Related posts

Donate
Change the language:
ENG       RUS  

Возвращение домой. История Атоти Этиривае

Атоти

Глаза – зеркало человеческой души. Много можно сказать о человеке, посмотрев в его глаза. Они умеют улыбаться, плакать, удивлять, пронзать, играть или смеяться …  В каждом взгляде есть  сияние, и самое яркое, наверное, исходит от детского. И как же больно бывает видеть глаза  маленьких созданий,  наполненные печалью  и какой-то пугающей пустотой… Но особенный  взгляд у  тех ребят, которых судьба выбросила на улицу. Такой взгляд не забыть никогда…

Дети улицы…  Как же их много! Голод, смерть или пьянство родных заставляют ребят убегать из своих домов и селений в города в надежде найти еду; чаще всего они  ищут её на мусорниках или воруют на базарах.  Эти дети очень похожи между собой: грязные, в  подранной, засаленной одежде,  с отсутствующим взглядом, затуманенным парами клея, часто босые и дрожащие от холода… Их дом – улица. Их постель – земля (в лучшем случае трава или кучка мусора).

Может показаться, что для этих потерянных созданий нет никакой надежды на лучшую жизнь, ведь они никому не нужны. Но есть ли что-то безнадежное для Господа? У Бога есть будущность и надежда для каждой души. Даже для той, которая, на наш взгляд, кажется потерянной!

 Об одной такой  душе мы хотим  рассказать.

Атоти

 Атоти из племени Туркана, которое живёт в пустынной местности на границе Кении с Южным Суданом.  Растительность территории очень бедная:  кактусы да колючки, климат жаркий, земля - песок и щебень -  месяцами томится без капли дождя, а питьевая вода  равняется мечте.

Мать Атоти умерла, когда ему было около 5 лет. С тех пор он жил с папой и старшим братом. Отец  - алкоголик. В состоянии опьянения родитель жестоко избивал детей. Он часто заставлял их добывать выпивку, а если сыновья не приносили спиртное, отец снова бил их.

Устав от  такой  жизни, Атоти с братом решились убежать из дому. Они попросили водителя автобуса провезти их бесплатно, и водитель, согласившись, доставил их в город Китале. Ребята стали жить на улицах, выпрашивать деньги, нюхать клей, воровать.

На одном из служений для детей улиц пастор из Украины  Геннадий Мохненко и его команда забрали Атоти и привезли его в наш дом. С первых моментов знакомства мальчишка начал нас удивлять: за обедом кушал вилкой (что абсолютно не свойственно его соплеменникам), был очень сдержан. Он вёл себя так, как будто никогда и  не жил на улице, всеми силами стараясь произвести на нас впечатление. Атоти настолько боялся снова вернуться к прежнему образу жизни, что даже когда на улице  другие беспризорники звали его, он прятался за нас. А когда мы объявили ему о правилах нашей семьи и объяснили всю важность их выполнения, он с решительной ответственностью и серьёзностью заявил, что готов их придерживаться.

Атоти стал частью нашей семьи в январе 2013 года. С каждым днем его пребывания у нас мы видели, как раскрывается его личность. У Атоти очень развиты лидерские способности: ему можно доверить присмотр за детьми или организацию их для какой-то деятельности. Он хорошо учится в школе и имеет потрясающие способности к музыке.

Мы верим, что с Божьей помощью этот мальчик вырастет  настоящим христианином и, возможно, великим человеком!

Кушаем ложкой

Атотик

Время поиграть

Полив

Атоти с лейкой

Отличная игрушка

Атоти

 

Автор: Анастасия Клименко

Добавлено 2014-05-27 18:34:50

Ещё статьи